HomeAndroid users (EN)Get socialSharing tracks

15.2. Sharing tracks

When it comes to sharing your tracks with other people and applications you have three options;

Upload tracks to website

Before tracks can be shared they must be uploaded to the my.viewranger.com web site and set as public.  We don't support closed groups.
To upload an individual track tap the track on the map screen and use Edit, upload.  
To upload all tracks (and routes), use the menu tab (cog icon in the top bar), Synchronize content.

Track privacy options

A track can be set to public or private.  If you want other users to see your tracks they must be set to public.

Global level privacy settings

Global track privacy setting (public or private) can be set in the my.viewranger.com web site by using My Account, My Profile, Track preferences and press save.  This will apply to all new tracks.  To change the privacy of all old track use the menu item Routes and track, My tracks and the Edit all button at the top.

Track level privacy setting

If you prefer to change the privacy of individual tracks from within the app or on the website.

On the website

Go to your My.ViewRanger account, select Routes > My tracks > Edit (next to your chosen track) > untick/tick the Public box.

Share tracks with other people within the app

You can share tracks directly within the app.  This works in combination with the my.viewranger.com web site.

Sharing from the map

Sharing tools

To share a track from the map screen tap on the track and select Sharing from the context menu.   If not already done so you will be asked to upload the track to the website and make it public.  Once done, you will have the option to Share.

Sharing from the track list

To share a track from the track list, displayed under the My Adventures/Profile tab, swipe to Tracks, and tap on the track and select the Sharing icon to the left of the 3 dots in upper right corner of the screen.   If not already done so you will be asked to upload the track to the website and make it public.  Once done, you will have the option to Share.

Sharing from the your profile

Track share

If the track is already uploaded to the web site, you can share the track in the app using menu (3 lines in the top bar), Store, tap on your profile picture, then under Latest Tracks tap on the track and sharing icon is near the top of the screen.

Share tracks with other people with the website

If the track is already uploaded you can share tracks directly with the my.viewranger.com web site.
Log into the site the use Routes and tracks, My tracks.  Click on the track name and sharing tools such as facebook and twitter will be displayed on public tracks.

Share tracks by turning the track into a published route

It is easy to convert a track to a route.  Preview the track at my.viewranger.com then use the menu button and 'create route from this track'.  Then, in the route list, edit the route.  Add text and pictures.  Publish the route to our route database where other users can find, download and follow.  See related page below.

 

Sharing tracks with other people and applications using GPX files

Tracks can be exported to GPX files from within the app or via the website.  GPX is an open format supported by many different web sites and applications.  For more information see the related page at the foot of then page.

Knowledge Tags

Related Pages
This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful